Tags

, , , , ,

“Wealth gives you the freedom to make choices” – Oprah Winfrey

(Don’t have time to read this article now? Jump to the bottom and add to Pocket an Iphone/Android app that reads articles to you. Click here to jump to the bottom.)

I’ve been replying to a lot of Public Relations (PR) requests on (HARO) Help A Reporter Out for my shop, Affordable Coin Shop.  I want to open the dialog and hear what others think. Please feel free to comment, reply and post your own responses. Candice Helfand The Story Exchange

In 300 words or less: Calling all female entrepreneurs! We at The Story Exchange are talking a lot about women and money on our site. Now, we want to hear from you. Have you ever felt nervous while seeking funding for your venture, or lacked confidence in the rates you charged for your goods and services (despite them being set at industry standards)? If so, how did you overcome those feelings to ensure that your business was profitable? Who helped you, or how did you help yourself? Tell us your stories so that we can feature them on our site as we continue to explore this issue. We look forward to reading what you have to say.

Women & money, I couldn’t help, but chuckle and respond. Mostly due to I operate a collectible coin shop. You’d think that having money would not be an issue, but it is. In 2001, I had bought into the family business with money my grandmother gave to me in her will. At the time, my contract job as a programmer. The world had changed after 9/11. With work being scarce, it was a risk worth taking. My parents had been in the collectibles business my whole life, so why not go into business with them.

In 2012, both of my parents, (Bob & Bea) got sick. This pretty much killed the family business. By the end of 2012, we had to close down the storefront. Due to further illness and complications, we ended up shutting down the website during the summer of 2013.

With bills piling up and more I needed to restart the business. I must honestly admit I was scared about restarting a business with no funds. It has been difficult and there were times where I felt like I was crazy for trying. Right now, I’m looking for funding in order to do some online marketing with Vocus. It has been a catch 22. Since restarting with a new business name, there are many hardships to overcome. I’ve tried OnDeck, but due to lack of history was denied. I’m going to try Kabbage next. I’ve even tried Go Fund Me, a crowdfunding site, but no response. With the economy being rough it’s not easy to get a loan but I’m going to keep trying. Worse case scenario will be having to sell off some inventory. I know there are companies that charge more than I do and yet get more customers. I could continue to constantly second guessing myself but, if I did that nothing would get done. You just have to keep creating systems to get your business running and learn from your mistakes.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Suggested articles on woman & Finance By Candice Helfand-Rogers
Helping Women Visualize Financial Freedom
Grandmother’s Struggle Inspires Finance Expert
A ‘Glam Girl’ Startup Rebrands as ‘Be Natural

