Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

(Don’t have time to read this article right now? Jump to the bottom and add to Pocket an Iphone/Android app that reads articles to you. Click here to jump to the bottom.)

I’ve been replying to a lot of Public Relations (PR) requests on (HARO) Help A Reporter Out for my shop, Affordable Coin Shop.  I want to open the dialog and hear what others think. Please feel free to comment, reply and post your own responses. I want to know. Ritika Puri was looking for…

How should a company choose a crowd-sourcing model? What questions should they ask and what are the potential challenges in selecting the right model? We consider how some companies have used crowd-sourcing to their particular benefit. I am looking to talk to business owners and managers.

I’ll admit I’m a huge fan of crowd funding. I love watching a person’s dreams bloom & grow. I’ve seen Robotics, 3D Printers as well as raise funds for overwhelming medical bills and funerals.  I don’t have much personal experience with crowd-funding but love the idea of allowing the public to get involved on a great project or helping someone out. The downfall is not all crowd-funding services are the same nor can you use whichever one you want. I wanted to help sponsor a half marathon, The Inaugural Lake Nona 13.1, through my shop so I decided to use crowd-funding. I couldn’t use Kickstarter because it was for art and physical projects. I couldn’t use Indigogo either so I went with Fundly as it didn’t have restrictions like the others did. Sadly there isn’t much out there that I’ve found useful as to what makes a crowd-sourcing projects successful. Unfortunately, with only days left to my crowd-funding champagne it appears that I will not be successful in accomplishing this goal but I will be looking for more tools and ideas. FYI just because it wasn’t successful this time doesn’t mean I won’t retry.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

