Overcome obstacles by turning them into ‘reasons why.’

(Don’t have time to read this article now? Jump to the bottom and add to Pocket an iPhone/Android app that reads articles to you. Click here to jump to the bottom.)

I’ve been replying to a lot of Public Relations (PR) requests on (HARO) Help A Reporter Out for my shop, Affordable Coin Shop. I had a thought, It’s a 50/50 chance that they may use my response but why let it go to waste? So why not share? I want to open the dialog and hear what others think. Please feel free to comment, reply and post your own responses. I want to know.

So Kevin Price asked….

We would like to hear the biggest challenges your company is facing today and why? Is it regulations? Taxes? Client development? Tell us your issues and things you are doing to over come them.

My biggest challenge to my company had overcome the obstacles left by my dad. I co-owned the shop with my parents but in 2012, they both got sick. Unfortunately, them getting sick took the business down. It barely ran in 2012 using whatever funds to help pay for their overwhelming medical bills. In 2013, my father came home but he was not of sound mind and caused further destruction to the shop causing the site to go down. Sadly we never developed any systems nor streamlined bills to be under the business’ name instead of my father’s personal name. Email accounts can’t be accessed, hidden bank accounts, unknown new business’ and sites.

It’s been a mess. It took me over 6 months to clear things up to the point that I as actually able to get our website back up and running. Now I have new challenges of gaining back my customers, driving up sales and generating revenue all with starting with no revenue, to start with. There’s a lot out there that business needs to do to get themselves out there and that can take a lot of time. Luckily with some research, I’ve had a lot of help from Vocus pointing me in the right direction and thinking outside the box.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

